How dare you steal me away to a world that no longer exists?

How dare you steal me away to a world that no longer exists?
To a world where only memories should have stayed.
To a world where the feelings are buried under a new layer of the recent exploits.
To the world where only she and I, she and I, she and I were held.
Yet I enjoy the taunt, and I enjoy the tease, with no clever retort to this world of ease.

In the light of half-past midnight, my numb eccentricities keep me company with the mist of a small kindle.
My muddied shoes are gentle to the soil, and you steal me away to that world of toil.
That hand held moment that once was gone is recreated in a stubborn belief in the words spoken.
I lay silent.
What noise is there to make?
The rain has proven enough to sing sleep to the countless.
Yet you and I are awake and weak; I in my shirt, and you in that dress.
You in the light of the streetlamp looking beautiful for naught.
I saw you and we made the love of screens and shows, reciting the vows that we let people know.
We recite those lines not of our mind, but of our soul, worth more to me than ages ago.
Those lines we stole.
I wish I could kiss, but miss.
So I grab at your wrist, pulling you closer and balling my hands to fists.
You push me away, and I act okay, saying a single line that would make you stay.
You take a seat, and I sit next to you, to listen to the thoughts that you alone once knew.
I listen to your past, but you nevertheless stay. You needed to speak, and you needed to say.
We let go of the memory, trying to make new, this newfound glory that we feel to be true. You leave.
Take the memories with you, as you see fit. You thieves of sly beauty, you’ve murdered me twice. Tonight…
In the light of half-past midnight, my numb eccentricities keep me company with the mist of a small kindle.
How could you feel so much, but say so little? In the last scene you give the zilch of a spit.
How dare you steal me away to a world that no longer exists?

(c) Anachronic Works 2011

4 thoughts on “How dare you steal me away to a world that no longer exists?

  1. burnthepoets says:

    Enjoyed this very much, “You thieves of sly beauty, you’ve murdered me twice.” What a great line! Keep writing!

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

