The Dog Feed Article 1

The Dog Feed

So we get a couple of pretty candidates to run for Student Council Office…

I suggest that all political parties just talk, and not advertise themselves, or go out to shake hands with passersby, telling them to vote for you. Earlier today I received handshakes from my friends who were members of the Buklod (UPLB Political) party as I was going about my schoolwork. On most days they would give a friendly wave or smile, and we walk past each other as if we each had our own distant world to conquer. I’m not saying I do not appreciate it, nor am I saying that I’d like to ruin friendships, but let’s step back a bit. (I’ve voted for Buklod before.)

We are Students, not the average junkies or squatters and bums who roam the streets poor as fuck. We’re not cavemen either, nor are we people whose minds can easily be fucked with. We can think. We can speak. Not to brag, but we do this better than a shitload out there. Now here’s the point I’m trying to make. Let’s not be gullible, nor let us be swayed by the simplicity of free food and other trinkets. Look and listen to the candidates, but never do it one at a time.

You see, language is like a whore. It can take many positions to satisfy different people. Pleasing in good ways for some, bad ways for others. That can’t be helped. Some people just won’t like the choice of words of this specific candidate. No, I’m not telling you to be open minded about the words. As I’ve said, words can be shape-shifted to mean this and that at the same time to different people. Now, if we mix the words with the body language. Disregard the fear and the shyness, and you can see who really means what they’re saying, and whose guts are in the right place. Watch your candidates, see if they feed that lonesome dog near LB Square. Look at your candidate when he/she is not campaigning and listen twice as clear then. Siphon the bullshit and you’ll get what’s what of the candidate.

Politics (election campaigns in particular) should not be so trivial. It should be gut. If everything was trivial, then we might as well have hired robots to finish the job for us, since we humans cannot be trivial 100% of the time. Nor can we manage to be relative for others while maintaining triviality. The essence of election campaigns is to win the public over. Now in what way do I suggest people go about it. I suggest people dispense with the bullshit, dispense with the plans and forms and structures and fucks. I suggest they stand on that podium, and talk about themselves. The best judge of character would be the reaction among friends and family, classmates and teachers. If people would just shut the fuck up for a while and talk like a regular person, and not like a candidate, then people would be able to choose.

It’s not the problem of the voters, who vote for the candidate of their choice, it’s the problem of the candidates. They lie, give false smiles, shake hands with no meaning to it, and do all sorts of fucked up things that end up making others see an obvious plastic mask distorting what was once a friend. Fuck. Right? Now I challenge the candidates, when they go about school, not to wear their Candidacy ID’s, not to wear the shirt of the party they represent, and not to wear that mental mask. I challenge them to go out for one day, and campaign to the people like the people. Talk and walk, cut classes, rush with people, eat with people (don’t buy them food), and just look at the lives of your voters and see what is really fucked and what is really trivial.

I may not be a candidate, and I doubt I should ever be one, nor do I have a feeling I want to, but I think that this is how a candidate should go about his/her campaign. I’m just your average insane bastard walking among you. Good night.

(c) Anachronic Works 2012 “The Dog Feed Articles”

12 thoughts on “The Dog Feed Article 1

  1. markpere2010 says:

    Matt, I think this is one of your most incisive blogs to date! Kudos! Having said that, let me share to you my experience during student elections. I was never a candidate, but I covered it for the school paper. I enjoy watching them mudslinging. And here’s one thing I noticed: many candidates are suffering from personality transformation disorders. These are those candidates who suddenly became approachable just because it’s election time.

  2. faTWave says:

    Darn, again you impress me. We both have the same outlook on how should the candidates act, but I’m not very keen on words. You, again, have delivered it in an amazing way.

    I, for one, hate too the style of how they “advertise” themselves.

  3. Yep….

    I couldn’t have said it better myself……

Leave a Reply

